Seventy Days of Summer… Bucket List 2011

This weekend marked the first three day weekend of the summer for me.  For some reason my employer thinks that giving the employees four 10 hour workdays will save money.  This leaves us with three day weekends during the summer; a welcome problem that leaves me bored, tired and frustrated during the work week.  It also leaves me with loads of freetime during the long weekends to do something other than vegetate and pick the lint from my cracks and crevices.

I spent this past weekend helping my girlfriend move.  I’ll sum that up by saying that she obviously bought every super heavy piece of furniture that the salesman offered her. (Eight foot pillars weighing in excess of 150 lbs a piece to anchor the corners of her bed…FML…)

No fishing or reading or being lazy on the beach.  Just a sore knee, tired back, and aching forearms.  So now, in my reflective mood, I’ve been moved to try to map out the things that I want to get done this summer.  I’m motivated to see these things get done… 25 things to fill the next 70 days.  It’s going to be fun!

HOME

  • Get organized and condense.  The bachelor life is over and done.  It’s time to pare down the assortment of vodkas and liquors and make room for the Yoo-hoo, cowtails, and Go-gurts.  Time to move the jerseys and polo shirts to the back of the closet to make room for skirts and blouses.  I’m not complaing… it’s a welcome and wnated addition.
  • Create my stylish circle-stack bookshelves and my keychain holder.
  • Buy art and find a way to incorporate it into my apartment.
  • Reinvigorate my neglected patio garden.
  • Buy a firepit…and use it weekly.

PLAY

  • Hit all of the Festevents highlights:  Bayou Bugaloo, Harborfest, Jazz Festival.
  • Go to at least three museums… something I haven’t done since elementary school.
  • Concerts galore.  Nothing has grabbed me yet, but my eyes and ears are open.
  • Hit all of the parks:  Busch Gardens, Water Country, Kings Dominion and watch my nephews, nieces, and my Mya scream their little heads off.
  • Buy a bike and pedal.  Another activity that lost it’s luster as life and responsibility took over.  I miss riding and look forward o getting back on.

OUTDOORS

  • Camping is definitely on the agenda.
  • Hiking, hopefully in Charlottesville on the Appalaichan Trail.
  • Perfect my grilling techniques.  Ayone can burn hamburgers and hotdogs(I proved that yesterday), but moving up to fish, fruit, steaks and ribs is going to be a fun challenge.
  • Spend more time trying to finish my book on Norfolk.  A portion of it is exploring life of the homelessness that persists in downtown and in Ocean View.  Several nights will be spent doing research.
  • Finally…at long last… learn how to swim.  I want kids.  I’d hate to have to watch them float away or sink and be helpless.

READ

  • 2666 by Roberto Bolano
  • The Stand by Stephen King
  • Push by Sapphire
  • A Moveable Feast by Ernest Heminway
  • Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut

KITCHEN

  • Fish Tacos
  • Create a signature cheesecake recipe
  • Homemade spaghetti sauce
  • Signature barbecue sauce
  • Paella

 

 

One Response to “Seventy Days of Summer… Bucket List 2011”

  1. vanessa Says:

    ur cheesecake rocks already, and you willnever have a bbq sauce as good as mine!!! so just give up now…lol…

Leave a Reply

